Boels Dolmans not among eight applicants for Women's WorldTour licences

28 August 2019 12:30
Boels Dolmans are not among the eight teams who have submitted applications for Women’s WorldTour licences as part of the new two-tiered system that will come into force from 2020. Trek-Segafredo, Canyon-SRAM, Mitchelton-Scott, CCC-Liv, Movistar, Team Sunweb, Ale-Cipollini, and FDJ have all formally submitted the paperwork required to be considered for top-tier status by the UCI. However, the number-one ranked team, according to both the UCI WorldRanking and UCI Women’s WorldTour ranking, will not be part of the top level of the sport from next year. Similarly, WNT-Rotor, who had announced their intentions to go for a WorldTour licence, are not among the applicants. ADVERTISEMENT The Women’s WorldTour has existed as a race category for a number of years but until now teams have not been divided into categories like in men’s professional cycling. As part of a range of reforms to women’s cycling under UCI President David Lappartient, women’s teams from 2020 will either be ‘UCI Women’s WorldTeams’ or ‘UCI Women’s Continental teams’. The WorldTour tier will be made up of a maximum of eight teams in 2020, meaning all eight who have applied will receive licences, provided they meet the governing body’s ‘sporting, ethical, financial and administrative criteria’. The teams will receive five-year licences, running from 2020 to 2024, with new teams able to join in subsequent years until a maximum of 15 WorldTeams is reached in 2024. From that point on, licences will be awarded based on raking points. You can read more at

Source: Cycling News