Dyball wins 2019 Tour de Langkawi

13 April 2019 11:05
Ben Dyball wrapped up 2019 Tour de Langkawi victory on the eighth and final stage of the race. Marco Benfatto (Androni) won stage 8 of the race in a bunch sprint with Dyball safe in the front group. Victory on Genting Highland set up Dyball's overall victory as he successfully defended his yellow jersey across four sprint stages. The win was the biggest yet for Dyball and his Malaysian Continental Sapura team. In the sprint for the stage win, Matteo Pelucchi was unable to change into his 11-tooth sprocket, and teammate Benfatto was the beneficiary, with the Italian nimbly adjusting from his lead-out role to sprinter. Blake Quick (St George) finished half a wheel behind Benfatto in second with Pelucchi holding on for third place. The day wasn’t without drama for Dyball, though, who finished the stage with a bloodied knee from a crash but was able to raise his arms in triumph as he crossed the line. The 29-year-old delivering on his season goal and bettering his third place overall from 2018.ADVERTISEMENT “I crashed 70 km into the race, I hit some oil on the road or something and lost the front wheel. I had to swap bikes but it was no problem,” Dyball told Cyclingnews on the finish line. “Injuries are nothing, to win the yellow jersey is a big relief. Especially after the crash just to get to the finish, I was really happy. It is hard to describe the feeling, it hasn’t quite sunk in it. This is the biggest goal for the whole year so this is amazing.” The overall podium was unchanged from stage 7 with Dyball’s winning margin 50 seconds ahead of Keegan Swirbul (Floyd’s) and 1:05 minutes to Vadim Pronskiy (Vino-Astana Motors). The overall win a first for an Australian since Damien McDonald claimed victory in the inaugural edition of the race in 1996. How it unfolded You can read more at Cyclingnews.com . read full article

Source: Cycling News