Ion Izaguirre Wins Vuelta VCV 2019

10 February 2019 03:02
Ion Izaguirre of Astana has won the 70th edition of the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana, or Tour of Valencia. Stage five of what has been an excellent race in gorgeous weather apart from today when it was cloudy, took the riders from Paterna to Valencia over a course of 88kms which was the same course that the women had taken on with Britain’s Alice Barnes taking a second place. Ion Izaguirre of Astana had moved up into the leader’s yellow jersey after a fourth stage won by British rider Adam Yates and had a lead of seven seconds from Alejandro Valverde going into the final stage. Van Poucke (SVB), Alexi Kurbatov (GAZ) and Martin-Sanz broke after ten kilometres and were joined by AG2R’s Alex Gougeard and got 1.45 away. Their lead went out to over two minutes but was down to 1.16 with sixty kilometres to go. Ten kilometres later and the gap was down to forty seconds before they started on the closing laps with a lead of thirty seconds. With twenty-five kilometres to go, the gap was down to 25 seconds and at fifteen seconds five kilometres later. The break was ended with fourteen kilometres remaining. Jay Thompson punctured as the pace ramped up and Julien Duval went off the front, only to be quickly reeled in. Team Sky came up with Chris Lawless and Ben Swift to take the bell with 7.5 kilometres to go. Geraint Thomas put in a good turn on the front with the race leader safely at the front of the bunch. There was a crash taking down a number of riders including Thomas and Lawless. Matteo Trentin went but up came Lotto-Jumbo Visma’s Dylan Groenewegen who won the stage in 1.50.18 ahead of Alexander Kristoff and Matteo Trentin. Ion Izaguirre managed to finish and took the overall victory ahead of Valverde and Bilbao with Dan Martin fourth and Adam Yates eighth. . read full article

Source: Kev Monks