Mitchelton-Scott announce Tour Down Under squad

09 January 2018 03:00
Six-time stage winner Caleb Ewan and former winner Cameron Meyer headline Mitchelton-Scott's 2018 Santos Tour Down Under team. Australian champion Alexander Edmondson will make his debut in the green and gold jersey at next week's race in his hometown of Adelaide having won the national title Sunday. A four-time stage winner in 2017 and wearer of the leader's ochre jersey, 23-year-old Ewan will be the protected rider on the team with the likes of Edmondson, new signing Jack Bauuer and Daryl Impey key riders in his lead-out train. Despite winning the overall race on three occasions with Simon Gerrans, the team is solely focused on sprint wins for 2018.ADVERTISEMENT "I thought my form was good coming into the nationals and I've been training well so to be in the race and do well is a big confidence boost coming into the Tour Down Under and I think I am probably in my best shape ever for the Australian season," said Ewan, who was fourth in the road race and won a third straight criterium title last week. In 2017, Ewan won all four sprint stages to go with his opening and closing stage wins of 2016. With a deep sprint field featuring world champion Peter Saga, two-time overall winner Andre Greipel, and Elia Viviani among others, Ewan expects a tough fight in the battle for sprint supremacy. "There's probably only three stages that really suit sprinters in the 2018 Tour Down Under, and then there may be a fourth depending on how it is raced. Looking at the profiles, the first two stages and last stage suit me best and then maybe the third stage if it is a more negative race," Ewan added. "This year, the sprint field is a lot better than it's been in the past two years so it's definitely going to be challenging." You can read more at . read full article

Source: Cycling News