OVO Energy Women's Tour: Vos wins stage 2

11 June 2019 01:53
Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv) won stage 2 of the OVO Energy Women's Tour, a circuit race at Kent Cyclopark. Vos was strongest in the slightly uphill sprint after 25 laps of the 2.5-kilometre course, easily beating Lizzie Deignan (Trek-Segafredo) and Sarah Roy (Mitchelton). Due to time bonifications picked up at the finish and an intermediate sprint, Vos also takes over the overall lead and the green jersey. After one neutral lap, the race was on from the start in the sunshine, a welcome change from the rain on stage 1. Alice Barnes (Canyon-SRAM), Ellen van Dijk (Trek-Segafredo), Leah Kirchmann (Team Sunweb), and Gracie Elvin (Mitchelton-Scott) attacked right away, but they were caught again after two laps. Boels-Dolmans as well as Trek-Segafredo, Canyon-SRAM, Team Sunweb, and CCC-Liv led the peloton on the next laps. Starting the sixth lap with 50 km to go, Elena Cecchini (Canyon-SRAM) had a small advantage, and the Italian committed to the move. Crossing the finish line after six laps, she was 30 seconds ahead.ADVERTISEMENT With the first intermediate sprint coming up after ten laps and bonus seconds on offer, the sprinters' teams gradually reduced the gap and reeled in Cecchini halfway through lap eight. This first intermediate sprint was won by Vos ahead of Deignan and Coryn Rivera (Team Sunweb). The next intermediate sprints came after laps 15 and 20. The sprinters were eager to make the most of their opportunities and had their teams keep the peloton together, with Alé Cipollini, Movistar Team, and Team Virtu Cycling also sharing the work. Alé Cipollini upped the pace on the lap before the second sprint, but it was Sheyla Gutierrez (Movistar Team) who was first to the line, ahead of Rivera and Sofia Bertizzolo (Team Virtu Cycling). The third intermediate sprint was won by Rivera's teammate, German champion Liane Lippert who beat Trek-Segafredo duo Deignan and Elisa Longo Borghini. You can read more at Cyclingnews.com.readfullarticle

Source: Cycling News